I’ve had a think about this – and I’m happy with the way it is implemented. If someone has been blocked, I don’t want to facilitate them encouraging their followers to pile on.

This doesn’t preclude using a different Twitter app, or even using invisible character to prevent the name being detected. But I’m OK with the way this functionality works.